Research Industry Leadership Awards 2019

Jayne Van Souwe Research Industry Leadership Award 2019


15 November 2019

At a special ceremony held last night, the Association of Market and Social Research Organisations (AMSRO) announced Darren Pennay, Founder of The Social Research Centre (owned by the Australian National University), as the inaugural Jayne Van Souwe Research Industry Leadership Award winner, recognising his long-term contribution to industry, the profession and academia.

Accepting the award, Pennay said: “I’m honoured to receive this award that highlights the legacy of Jayne Van Souwe. I respected her greatly as a colleague and a person.

“While I’m honoured, the accomplishments the nominators noted were not mine alone—they reflect the exceptional quality of our team at The Social Research Centre.  I’ve been fortunate to spend my career with talented methodologists and researchers who are committed to using high quality data for positive social impact.

“Producing accurate facts has become increasingly challenging over the years as technology advances and reduced trust in government have made it more challenging to conduct surveys.  Together we have worked to predict and respond to these changes, rigorously testing new methods and bringing best practices to our clients and the industry.”

Pennay has more than 30 years of experience in the industry and is also heading the Panel for the Inquiry into the Performance of the Opinion Polls at the 2019 Australian Federal Election (AMSRO Polling Inquiry). 

He is an expert survey methodologist and has worked in social research and survey design since 1984. From 2010 to 2015, Pennay played a leading role in the introduction of dual-frame telephone surveys to Australia. He was also key in establishing Australia’s first probability-based online panel – Life in AustraliaTM. In 2014, he was awarded the Research Industry Council of Australia’s Research Effectiveness Award for Innovation and Methodology. He is an Adjunct Professor with the University of Queensland’s Institute for Social Science Research (ISSR), a co-founder of the ANU Centre for Social Research Methods, a Fellow of the Australian Market and Social Research Society and has QPR (Qualified Practicing Researcher) accreditation.

The Jayne Van Souwe Research Industry Leadership Award was introduced this year to pay tribute to those professionals who have dedicated significant time, energy and expertise on behalf of the wider research community. 

The award judges commented that the lineup of nominees was exceptional, with all five research industry leaders having made a significant and long-term contribution to the growth, promotion and advancement of the Australian research, data and insights industry.

Nicola Hepenstall, one of three judges and former AMSRO President said: “It was a real privilege to work on this project and to have such an impressive, talented group of individuals who have all given so much to our industry over many years.  Of course, the decision was very close, however in the end it was Darren’s work in the academic space and its long-lasting impact on research around the globe that we felt should be recognised.”

For close to 30 years, AMSRO has successfully promoted and protected the research industry in Australia, including obtaining Australia’s first and only industry privacy code and obtaining research industry exemption from the ‘Do Not Call’ Register. These protections and successes could not have been achieved without the voluntary efforts of people who care not only about their own business, but about the entire industry.

“The thriving research, data and insights industry that exists in Australia today has been built on the activities and efforts of individuals who, over the last 50 years, have devoted their time and energy to building businesses, lobbying government and advancing our research practices to drive the industry forward.   As the industry increasingly embraces technology, digitisation and automation, it is important that we continue to recognise and value the critical contributions that our people make to ensuring that data and analyses are accurate, timely and relevant,” AMSRO Executive member, Craig Young, said.


Award and judging process (background). 


  • Current AMSRO members are invited to nominate an individual.
  • An individual need only be nominated once to be considered.
  • The number of nominations received per nominee bears no weight in their selection.
  • It is the responsibility of the nominator to collect sufficient evidence to support the nomination against the selection criteria, enabling the judging panel to assess the candidate’s merit. 


  • Nominations will be accepted from individuals in current AMSRO member organisations.
  • All industry members (AMSRO and non-AMSRO) are eligible for nomination.

Selection criteria:

This award celebrates an exceptional leader who:

  • Has contributed to the growth, promotion or advancement of the Australian research, data and insights industry.
  • Has made a significant contribution beyond that required in their paid employment.
  • Has demonstrated the highest ethical standards.
  • Demonstrates outstanding leadership qualities, such as integrity and initiative, mentoring and giving back, dedication and determination, resilience and risk-taking, and passion for innovation that has a lasting impact.
  • Has held a senior position of leadership.
  • Has significant experience within the research, data and insights industry sector, 10 years+.

Judging panel:

The Award will be judged by former AMSRO Presidents – Nicola Hepenstall, Martin O’Shannessy and Yvonne Wallis.

Nomination process:

  • Nominations open at 9:00 am on Monday 12 August 2019.
  • Nominations close at 5:00 pm on Friday 13 September 2019.
  • Judging will take place late September 2019 and be finalised by Friday 18 October.
  • The Judge’s decision is final.
  • One recipient per annum will be awarded.
  • The Awards will be presented annually at the AMSRO AGM Special Event.
  • Late nominations will not be accepted.

The inaugural presentation of the Jayne Van Souwe Research Industry Leadership Award was held on Thursday 14 November 2019.

For further information

Contact the AMSRO Secretariat:

Telephone 0460 012 092 or email

NominationsJudging panelJayne Van Souwe

Jayne Van Souwe

Jayne Van Souwe

16 July 1959 –
15 April 2019